Carla Swafford talks about her Circle! And a Giveaway!

I’m happy to welcome the very talented author Carla Swafford to my book blog today.  Carla and I have been blogging friends for a couple of years now and I was very happy for her when her first published novel CIRCLE OF DESIRE came out some time back.  I got myself a print copy as soon as I could get my hands on one.  It was followed by part 2 of the series, CIRCLE OF DANGER.  With the publication of CIRCLE OF DECEPTION, the circle is now complete.  Hailing from Alabama in the USA, Carla is a perfect southern lady, but man, she writes hot!  She’s not afraid to grasp the nettle and write about subjects which you’d think a lady would rather shy away from!  But don’t judge these book by their covers.  Beneath the ‘hot’ exterior, there’s a worthwhile message.  As you might say, her writing has depth and quality.  Well I wouldn’t expect anything less in Carla’s case.

ANNOUNCEMENT:  The winner of Carla’s Giveaway is Timitra.  Congrats, Timitra.

CARLA ON THE WEB

Website     Blog     Facebook     Twitter     Goodreads     Amazon     Pinterest

Thank you, Maria, for inviting me here today. I’ve always counted myself lucky the day I found your blog.  

Can you share a brief bio with us?

I’m fortunate to be the first writer to have a manuscript pulled from HarperCollins’ slush pile and published by their new e-format imprint, Avon Impulse, followed by two more books under their Avon Red imprint. A third generation storyteller, I love writing stories with guaranteed happily-ever-after endings. And speaking of happy endings, I’m married to my own bad boy/high school sweetheart turned into good husband/father. We live in the suburbs of Birmingham, Alabama USA.

Where do you get the inspiration for your stories?

As far back as I remember, I’ve found spy movies and TV shows fascinating, such as James Bond and La Femme Nikita. With all of the weapons, gadgets and huge amounts of money at their disposal, they pretend to be someone they’re not as they track down and catch the bad guys. How cool! And by the way, the bad guys are often as interesting as the heroes and heroines.

Just as the James Bond films, or many other spy movies for that matter, have an element that makes them bigger than life – girls painted gold, cars with ejector seats, and razor-edged bowler hats along with out of this world plot lines (space anyone?) – my stories do too.  If they didn’t, I believe they would be so boooring.

What is your writing routine?  Do you write every day?

Yep. Whenever I’m not at my day job, I’m on the computer writing, editing or working on promotion. Not much of a routine per se. I come home from work, change into something comfortable and start to work. Hubby cooks. He’s a better cook and truth be known, so picky about what he eats, it makes life easier for everyone. The weekend is when I get most of my writing done, if I don’t have family or writer obligations. I wake up around 8 a.m. and work until twelve or one in the morning.

Can you sum up your current release in 140 characters? 

Mercenary finds lost love alive & in love with his brother. When they work undercover together, will he finally get the answers he desires?

The CIRCLE series is now complete, I understand.  What’s next?

I’m working on a new series that I hope to sell and really can’t say much about it. But I plan to write a fourth book in The CIRCLE series and possibly self-publish it. This will be Jack’s story. In the meanwhile, the opening scene can be found at my blog. LINK: (http://carlaswafford.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/an-excerpt-of-circle-of-defiance/). 

Thank you Carla for coming here and sharing with us today.  Readers, Carla has very kindly agreed to give away one ebook, the winner’s choice of any one of the three circle books.  So make sure to leave a comment before you go to be in the draw.

CIRCLE OF DECEPTION

Carla Swafford’s erotic Circle series comes toan exhilarating finale as the team of sexy spies and assassins goes undercover—under the covers.

After disappearing days before her wedding to fellow Circle agent Rex Drago, Abby Rodriguez discovered that trying to reclaim a life—and a love—lost is a whole lot harder than she thought. When her family’s safety is threatened by an arms dealer, Abby must go undercover with the one man who sees right through her as they play the scariest roles yet: husband and wife.
Mission or no mission, Rex Drago wants answers from his ex-fiancee. Forced to play along as a rival arms dealer and the husband he once wanted to be, Rex is finding it hard to stay professional—especially since Abby is just as hot as ever. And when they find themselves in a very intimate position, Abby and Rex must act the part—or risk blowing their cover entirely.
BUY LINKS:  Amazon   Amazon UK  Barnes & Noble

45 Replies to “Carla Swafford talks about her Circle! And a Giveaway!”

  1. Wow! I love the 'Mercenary finds lost love alive & in love with his brother' sounds so intriguing! I wonder what will happen next?

    Thanks for the interview, Maria.

    Congratulations Carla! CIRCLE OF DECEPTION looks interesting!

    All the best!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the great contest Carla! I'm missing the first book in this series…keeping my fingers crossed that I win if not will definitely buy it since I have books 2 and 3!

    taccb(underscore)1981(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Like

  3. Thank you for the great interview Maria! And thank you Carla for taking the time to chat to us. Your book sounds like all kinds of sexy-knock-my-socks-off deliciousness!

    Like

  4. I'm a big fan of James Bond. When I was in London in 2000 I had my photo taken beside a life-sized cardboard version of the then Bond actor, Pierce Brosnan…

    Carla, your stories sound like amazing adventures, not to be missed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

