Jenny Brigalow with a new release THE CHILDREN OF THE MIST and a GIVEAWAY

Born in Britain, Jenny Brigalow arrived in Australia as a young woman in 1985 for an impromptu holiday and never left. She fell in love with the Australian bush, its unique flora and fauna and the colourful personalities that inhabit the country. Shes live on a small acreage close to Toowoomba with her family, dogs, cats and ponies. She loves to write. She writes rural romance, young adult and, more recently, literary fiction. When she’s not writing, she’s reading, walking or riding her Connemara pony, Romeo. Rural romance is a natural extension of her passion for all things country. She believes that romance is the universal language of love. And besides, she’s a sucker for a happy ending.  Jenny is very welcome to MBB today.  She has a guest post for us on the subject of crossing over from contemporary romance to young adult fiction.

JENNY BRIGALOW ON THE WEB:

Website  Twitter  Facebook

Making the Transition from Contemporary Romance to Young Adult Fiction

People keep asking me how I made the transition from contemporary rural romance to young adult fiction and to paranormal in particular. I guess the simple answer is that I haven’t really made a giant leap at all. While my earliest works were romance, I began to write YA in 2009. My first YA, a fantasy fiction, THE OVERLANDER, won a place on residency in 2010 when I entered a competition co-run by the Queensland Writers Centre and Allen & Unwin. Since that time, I’ve written a trilogy. I should perhaps add, that I also write literary fiction.

While I tend to write rural romance for myself (selfish I know), I wrote THE OVERLANDER for my daughters, who commented that in all the YA adventure books they read and loved , the male characters seemed to hog all the action. I wrote the OVERLANDER Trilogy with this insight at the forefront of my mind.

THE CHILDREN OF THE MIST evolved after a conversation with my youngest daughter, who is (just ever so slightly) obsessed with the whole paranormal phenomenon. The story started as a question. How would you feel if you woke up on your 16th birthday and found you’d morphed into a vampire? And hence,
Morven Smith was born.

As a reader, I have never been restrained by genre. Over the decades, I have grazed my way through a whole meadow of books oblivious to their classification. Perhaps this overflows into my writing. And while I may enjoy writing in different genres, there is one common thread. Everything I write has a strong element of romance. So maybe they are not so different after all.

Read about Jenny’s latest release, THE CHILDREN OF THE MIST, below.  And please leave a comment before you go.  Jenny has a free copy of her book for one lucky reader who leaves a comment.

THE CHILDREN OF THE MIST


An original paranormal YA about an unconventional girl, an unconventional boy, their extraordinary transformations, and the secrets of the Scottish Highlands. When skater girl Morven Smith turns sixteen, she develops boobs, acute appendicitis…and a pair of pointy teeth. While she is stunned by her metamorphosis into vampire, her best mate, the enigmatic Zest, is not. For the young werewolf, Morven’s transformation is an answer to his lonely prayers.

But they are unable to celebrate their mutual paranormalcy for long — there are too many dangers, too much suspicion, and too many questions. It’s only in Scotland that Morven can learn the truth about her past. But she discovers more than she bargained for when she meets her birth family — an ancient feud between vampires and werewolves. They may both be Children of the Mist, but only one species can survive.

Buy links:  Escape Publishing     Amazon     Amazon UK

The winner is bn100

18 Replies to “Jenny Brigalow with a new release THE CHILDREN OF THE MIST and a GIVEAWAY”

  1. I didn't realise we are practically neighbours with you just up the road. The joy of Australia where distance means very little. I was very interested in your experience and your comment on writing in what are considered multiple genres. I read multiple genres and I have to control myself whenever I read anything outside contemporary romance because I want to go off and write in that genre too, with of course the romance. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Christina, Stacey and Princess (love that) thanks for dropping by. Must say Christina, that the research for this was fascinating. Hard to stop. Fiona, lovely to meet a fellow Oz. My only question is why worry about running off to write a different genre? Go for it I say! Great to have you here Stacey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

