BARDS OF THE BLOGOSPHERE SPECIAL – A Bard A Day – No. 9 Maria Perry Mohan

Heard of the Bards of the Blogosphere by now? Of course you have.  We (because I’m a member too), are a group of India-based bloggers, randomly brought together by Blogadda, the Indian blogging hub. We have co-written a novella together.  It’s an exciting story of drama, intrigue, romance suspense and…..well, you’ll just have to read it to find out.  The Bards are taking part in the Game of Blogs, an activity promoted by Blogadda to #CelebrateBlogging, with thirty teams in the novella writing fray.  Despite eliminations, we’re still in the game.  We met all the Bards, one by one. First, we met Dr Roshan Radhakrishnan. Then, we met the vivacious Divyakshi Gupta from Mumbai.  Next, we met the multi-faceted Priyanka Roy Banerjee!  Following Priyanka, it was the turn of the enigmatic Nupur Maskara.  Then, we had the talented Sulekha Rawat.  Next, we met the unassuming Arpita Nayak.  Subsequently, we met  our second Priyanka, the witty Priyanka Victor.  Then we met our Bard of deep and sensual prose, the inimitable Datta Ghosh.  One of the Bards was forced to drop out before the game began because of unavoidable circumstances. So that leaves only me, Maria Perry Mohan



Maria Perry Mohan on the Web:

Blog       Facebook        Twitter



I’m now going to answer the exact questions I asked my fellow Bards during the last few weeks….

Can you share a little about yourself?

I was born in Ireland and loved living there.  After I met my husband, the love of my life (apart from the kids, my mum, etc) I couldn’t enjoy living there any more and I followed him over to India, where he was obliged to return to work after a stint of study in Ireland.  We got married nearly twenty years ago and my feet have hardly touched the ground since. That’s because I’m way too busy with looking after the kids, housework, cooking, trying to write lots, the usual pressures.

How are you enjoying being a Bard of the Blogosphere?

It feels wonderful to be part of such a team.  I feel we are totally in synch with each other.  Most of us have only ever met in WhatsApp and Facebook, I had an amazing experience with this group.  I had written the first chapter of Cyrus and Jenny’s romance and when I read Arpita’s closing chapter on the same romance, I got goosebumps.  It was a different author, yet exactly the same people as I’d written about.  It felt surreal.  Datta wrote the hot Cyrus and Jenny scene and I did feel that the characters were different in tone and intensity than I’d written them.  Then I remembered that people generally are different in the bedroom than they are on the street.  I’d written them on the street and Datta had written them in the bedroom.  That made complete sense.

How does it feel to cowrite a novella?  Have you done this before?

I co-wrote a novel last year with hundreds of writers.  It was called THE LONELY WISH GIVER and it was brought together by a group called GRAMMOWRIMO.  I only had to write 800 words and I feel sure that my 800 got written out in editing.  I completely disown that book, there’s nothing of me in it at all.  This is completely different.  I have around 7k words in it.  If the book gets published, there probably will be some cuts, but it remains close to my heart.

Did you know the ending to the story?

I did.  It still came as a surprise to me.

Can you sum up this experience in a Tweet sized sentence?

The Bards of the Blogosphere rock! #CelebrateBlogging

AND NOW:  THE BOOK  

Week 1: 
Chapter 1 – Princess’ Day Out
Chapter 2 – The Weekend Brunch
Chapter 3 – The Journey
Chapter 4 – The Phone Call
Chapter 5 – Through the Eyes of a Stranger
Chapter 6 – The Princess and her Pied Piper
Chapter 7 – Shadow play turns real
Chapter 8 – Mysterious Tattoo
Chapter 9 – The Confrontation

Week 2:

Chapter 1 – I’m coming to get you, Princess
Chapter 2 – The evening before
Chapter 3 – A Good morning
Chapter 4 – Trigger happy
Chapter 5 – The Calm before the storm
Chapter 6 – What lies beneath
Chapter 7 – Pandemonium
Chapter 8 – Whodunnit
Chapter 9 – The Divulgence

Week 3
Chapter 1 – Shadows In The Night
Chapter 2 – Taken
Chapter 3 – Truth and Pretence
Chapter 4 – The Perfect Crime
Chapter 5 – Standoff
Chapter 6 – The Return
Chapter 7 – Catharsis
Chapter 8 – The Reunion
Chapter 9 – Epilogue


It’s currently a free read online, with the different chapters found at the various blogs of the writers.  Please visit, follow the story and above all, respond. Leave comments on our posts and Facebook page.

The Bards of the Blogosphere are on Facebook.  You can get to our page from here.


Leave a Reply

