DISCOVERING ME by Divyanjali Verma – A Young Indian Author

 

Ddivyanjali

Divyanjali Verma is a young writer from Lucknow in north India. She recently published her novel DISCOVERING ME. She is currently studying clinical psychology in Amity University in NOIDA, north India. In this interview, she shares her thoughts on her book, which by all accounts, is an absorbing read.

 

What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Inspiration… I am not too sure whether it could be labelled as such, but I did have motivation to write. This started off as an article for the school magazine, but was deemed to be too long to be published so i shelved it. Then one of my friends requested me to continue and well, i was not doing too good academically that year, so writing was a way to prove to myself that i wasn’t worthless. So in a way, the motivation was to keep myself from slipping into depression.

 

Why do you like writing?

I like to write because it acts as an outlet for thoughts that i cannot express out loud. Also, it is a great way to discover like-minded people. I started reading voraciously at the age of 10, moving on to writing was an easy transition. Devouring the words of L.M.Alcott, J.K.Rowling, Christopher Paolini, Dan Brown, and Agatha Christie, among a lot others, I began to wonder what my own words would turn out to be like on paper. Once I started, there was no end. Writing is an escape, solace, a relief from reality. Since I generally use a penname while posting write-ups on social media, it also helps me to hide as I write in metaphors about all that I feel and want.

 

How long did it take you to write this book? 

It took me a year to complete the book and another to finish editing it to my best ability. Examinations and joining college kept me from working on it as much as I wanted to and so it took me two years to be done with it.

 

What was the hardest part of your writing process?

Hardest part of the writing process for me was to pen down the conversations. I am not one to talk much out loud. I prefer written to vocal, and so coming up with the words that the characters said to each other was difficult. Aside from that, i was bleeding ink and it was quite easy. However, since I am in a better place currently, I’m having difficulty slipping into that mode again so in a way, the hardest part has been to start with the sequel.

 

What was the shortest?

What took the least amount of time were the parts with King Rusoe and Lady Charlise. I had the most fun writing them and had to tone down some of the scenes because my friends felt they would be too mcuh for a young audience (laughs). Considering the society I live in, it is completely okay for there to be violent scenes whereasmy morals might have been questioned if I had added some romantic parts in the manuscript. Therefore I let my imagination fly wherever it wanted when it came to those chapters and one cana very well say that they wrote themselves.

 

Intempus – Discovering Me

 

 

intempus2

“Sometimes all it takes to change everything you thought true is a single sentence by a single person.” And sometimes it takes three.
All Danielle Hayes ever wanted was a normal, boring life, full of monotonous repetitions, but three statements destroyed all chances of her wish ever coming true-
1) “Don’t call me ‘Daddy’, I’m not your father.”
2) “I am Daniel Hayes, your brother.”
3) “I’m a Lamia, dear, a witch. Dan’s one too, as are you!”
Read on as the saga commences and Danielle begins the journey to find her roots and discover who she really is while coming to terms with magic, family and above all, the feeling of home in the midst of increased revelations of mysteries which supposedly have no explanations.

 

Get this book here: Amazon India  (ebook/ book)  Amazon US   Amazon UK  Kobo

 

Leave a Reply

